Mutual Respect

I posted this article earlier on my Facebook and I had no words….

I think I’ve found some now… as a manager and someone who carries suicidal thoughts on and off often, this weighs on me. I know there are times when there is nothing you can do, or certain things can’t be helped; but I’m also hyper aware how much the way I treat people and the decisions I make every day at work affect the lives of so many others. Not only my crew but their family, their friends, and their loved ones.


It may well be that some of this is inflated. That Angell had other reasons, other things going on in his life. But I’m certain inhumane working conditions didn’t help improve things any. We’re all human after all, we all run into our own struggles, road blocks, challenges, hurdles. And what’s a molehill to one of us is a giant impenetrable wall to others. We’re just different. Workplaces and management should understand that and act accordingly.

I try hard to fight for my crew when I can, the best ways I know how. I’m not always successful, but I put up the battle anyways, because if I don’t, and no one else does…. this happens. Or it could. And even the thought that it COULD is enough to scare me into not letting it. The fact that it DOES and HAS in the past for several people I know breaks my heart.

Taking on a position of management should not be held lightly. No matter the industry, workplace, etc. Peoples’ lives and livelihoods are in your hands.

Sometimes there really is nothing we can do. I’m personally notorious for taking on more responsibility for things than I should (I believe they call that an inflated ego). But if you are a manager, please don’t accept that there is nothing you can as your FIRST premise. Please at least try to fight, for you crew, your employees, your staff. Please listen when they hold you accountable for mistakes you have made. No you’re not inherently evil and you are most likely making the best decisions you can with what you’re given, but if you’re not taking the time to listen then you’re not taking in all the information that you need. Respect each other. Care for each other. Each of our lives are in each others’ hands in some way.

Leave a comment