48 Hour Film Project

Some of you may know that a group of friends and I participated in Toronto’s Chapter of the 48 Hour Film Project late last year. Good news, I’ve finally gotten around to posting the video up!

For the sake of privacy on behalf of some of my teams’, I’ve password protected the video (see below). I’ve also added the script below the video since that was one of my biggest contributions to the picture. Also please bare in mind that I wrote this all in roughly 5 hours, and we filmed everything in one single day. Hope you guys enjoy it!

Password: LooneyToons

Required Elements:

Genre – Film de Femme/Generation Gap

Prop – A Headband

Character – Riley Ludwig (A door to door salesman)

Line – “In another life if you’re lucky.”

 

WORKING TITLE: Motherhood

Written By: Amanda Lomonaco

 

FADE IN ON:

CU of Liz’ face as Kara talks to her in the bg, pacing back and forth and talking rapidly as Liz just sits and stares into the distance.

 

KARA

So I think the nurse will be here at around 11 a.m.

And I’ll use that time to go grab some groceries

And maybe pick up your prescription at the

Pharmacy. Then we have to make sure he knows your

Exact schedule. I already have a daily itinerary

Written up. I’ve installed a couple of cameras

Around the place in case he tries anything.

So, I’ll make sure I pick up the orange juice, as

Well because I know you have to have that…

 

Liz continues to stare into the distance as her daughter talks and paces. Liz starts to brush her mother’s hair and tie it into a bun. She’s meticulous in making sure not a single stray hair remains. She finishes her actions as she continues to talk. Her mother is barely responding the whole time

LIZ

Can we go have ice cream?

Kara carries on talking without acknowledging her mother’s statement.

KARA

Ok, so I have to make sure I get OJ, milk, kale,

I need to prep all your meals for the week still –

A knock on the door interrupts Kara mid run-on sentence. She hesitates for a minute as she re-calculates things in her head before answering the door.

As she opens the door Riley Ludwig stands on the other side with a smile from ear to ear. Riley is dressed relatively formally, with a duffle bag draped over his shoulder.

RILEY

Hi there. How you doing today?

KARA

Oh, good you’re early! Come in,

Please! Oh my God, I’m so grateful

You’re here early. I was trying to plan

My whole day around you getting here at 11am

But now I can get so much more done

Because I can go get groceries earlier…

Kara continues to talk at the same rate without even skipping a beat and guides Riley into the living room where her mother is sitting. She forgets to even introduce Riley and her mother to each other as she carries on into the kitchen.

KARA

Do you want some coffee? I was

About to make some coffee for

Myself

Kara walks into the kitchen as she speaks to Riley, leaving him alone in the living room with her mother.

RILEY

Oh no, I’m fine, thank you very much.

Actually, that’s what I’m here to talk

To you about

(without skipping a beat Riley turns to Liz and

Starts to remove some cans from his duffle bag)

Have you heard about Ener-go?

You’ll never need to drink coffee again.

In the distance Kara has continues to talk without acknowledging Riley.

KARA

… and I’ve posted her schedule

To the fridge for you as well as any

Emergency numbers in case you have any questions…

Liz turns her face to Riley as an enormous smile spreads on her lips.

LIZ

Rob Grantham?! Daddy got Rob Grantham

To come to my party?! I can’t believe it!

I could faint! I’ve been you’re fan for so long!

Riley is a bit taken aback

RILEY

Ha! I actually get that a lot.

No, sorry, my name’s Riley, Riley

Ludwig, actually. I’m just here to talk

To you and your… daughter? About Ener-go.

Liz suddenly notices the cans Riley has placed on the table in front of her.

LIZ

Oooooh this looks yummy!

Liz reaches for a can and opens it.

RILEY

Yes, yeah, please try one. I guarantee

you’ll love it! They come in 4 unique

Flavours. Each with the different benefits

Depending what your goals are.

Liz takes a sip as Riley talks and makes a face at the taste.

RILEY

Delicious right?

LIZ

No, this is awful.

Liz takes another sip and makes a face.

LIZ

Will you sing me Happy Birthday

To the beat of “Ride Tonight”?

That would be the best ever birthday

Present

From the other room Kara calls out to Riley

KARA

How was it that you said you took

Your coffee?

Riley is grateful for the refuge from Kara and walks into the kitchen as he answers her.

RILEY

Oh no, really, I didn’t want any coffee.

KARA

You may not want any now, but trust, me,

One hour with her and you’ll be grateful

For a cup.

RILEY

Well that’s what I was trying to say,

With Ener-go you’ll never need

To drink coffee again. It’s the perfect

Mix of protein and energy that keeps

You going for the whole day without

The addiction and headaches coffee can

Cause.

KARA

Oh, is this a new kind of meal replacement?

I’ve been looking for a new one, she

Always hates any of the ones I’ve tried

To give her.

RILEY

Ener-go, really isn’t a –

They hear Liz shout excitedly from the other room.

LIZ

Kara come quick, you have to see!

Kara runs into the living room in concerned panic to find her mother has stacked the cans Riley placed on the table into a mini pyramid. 3 of the 4 cans are now empty.

LIZ

I made a pyramid! I’m a pharaoh! Omg

Is that the stripper? That’s

Not a very good costume for a

Stripper, but I can’t wait

To see you take it off!

Kara suddenly pauses for a minute. She looks at the pyramid of energy drinks, at Riley’s duffle bag, and then at Riley. A burst of frustration floods her face, then a smile.

KARA

I’m sorry, there seems to have

 been some confusion.

I expressly ordered a policeman

Stripper, not a door salesman.

Riley is taken aback for a moment as he looks back and forth between both women, then smiles at Kara.

RILEY

I’m sorry, I left my cop outfit

At the dry cleaners.

The two of them chuckle. They look back at Liz, who has suddenly passed out asleep on the couch.

[possibly a moment of concern then ‘don’t worry that’s a normal side effect, especially at her age]

RILEY

Dementia?

KARA

Early onset.

RILEY

That’s rough. My nan had

That, and it was tough enough

With her being 80.

It’s hard to find a moment… for

Yourself. Where they don’t come first.

KARA

Yeah, maybe… in another life,

If you’re lucky.

Liz starts to slowly wake up as if listening to a gentle lullaby in her head.

LIZ

This song! It’s this one. Don’t you remember it?

She suddenly gets up and begins to dance. She takes Riley in her arms and begins to guide him through the steps as she hums a tune.

LIZ

It’s what we danced to at our wedding. You should

Dance to this with your daughter.

I have to poop!

Liz briskly leaves the living room on the way to the washroom, leaving Kara and Riley alone together. They stare at each other and laugh once again.

RILEY

Well I have to say, out of

All the houses I have visited,

This will definitely be the most

Memorable one.

KARA

Well thank you…

Kara reaches her hand out to shake Riley’s

RILEY

Riley.

KARA

Thank you Riley,

Sorry I couldn’t help

You sell any more drinks.

RILEY

You have nothing to be sorry

For. I hope you have a lovely day.

Riley collects his things as him and Kara say their goodbyes. As she closes the door Kara leans against it and smiles. From the other room we hear a flush as Liz comes out of the bathroom and shouts out at her daughter.

LIZ

Well that felt great! What

Are we getting up to today?

Kara pauses for a moment and we see her relax.

KARA

Why don’t we just go for a walk?

LIZ

Oh! Can we get ice cream?!

KARA

Sure, mom.

THE END.


 

It’s the second time I’ve participated in the 48hour film project (the first time was in New Zealand), and I HIGHLY recommend it to ANY filmmaker. You don’t need very fancy equipment, or a massive team. We filmed this with two Canon EOS 7s , one tripod, and 5 people. It’s always a fun time, and I always learn a TON about the filmmaking process in a very short period of time. If you’re interested in the project, check out the 48 Hour Film Project main website to search for a Project near your neighbourhood.

Leave a comment