Lotion Addicts Anonymous

In the winter I become a lotion addict.

I try to go just half a day without it. Just half a day. It’s no use, I get the itch, I start to crack.

I try to satisfy it with just one drop, a single dollop on my hands. But one drop always leads to another, and my hands start to spread more and more up my arm, taking a little bit more every time. Soon I’ve rolled my sleeves up as far as they’ll go, and the rest of my skin aches with jealousy.

The pump on the bottle stops working and I unscrew the nozzle, scraping as much off of it as I can, wiping the corners with my fingers, banging on the top to get more out. Until finally, I’ve used the whole bottle and my skin is satiated. Aching for relief from the winter drought.

At least for the next few hours…

Leave a comment